DC Comics was founded by National Allied Publications in 1934 and is one of the most popular largest comic book companies operating in the US marketplace for comic books. DC Entertainment National Allied Publications is the publishing division for National Allied Publications and is a wholly owned subsidiary of Warner Brothers Entertainment, which in turn is wholly owned by Time Warner.

DC Comics provides material which features a large number of well known superheroes, including The Justice League, The Green Arrow, The Teen Titans, Captain Marvel, The Green Lantern, The Flash Wonder Woman, Batman, and Superman.

Detective Comics provided the DC initials and has since become part of the company’s official name. Diamond Comics Distributors are suppliers to the comics shop specialty markets while Random House is the distributer for DC Comic books to the other markets.

Marvel Comics is the number one competitor to DC Comics and together currently the two companies share more than 80% of the US comic book market.